Is Sleep Possible?

To start off, I am going to start calling my Baby “Bubbs” but I have yet to come up with something to call my husband.  When I do, I am sure I will make an announcement.  Yeah, because it’s that important.

Bubbs has been home for three weeks, and will be four weeks old next week.  It seems to have flown by, but that could be because the days and nights seem to bleed together.  Monday becomes Thursday which becomes February…  It’s disorienting.  I have to keep asking myself, will it ever even out?  Will I get more than a couple of hours of sleep at a time EVER again???  My husband has been great at giving me time to rest, but at his own expense of rest.

For the first week or so, Bubbs was on a pretty good schedule – he’d be awake to eat every three hours or so.  But as he grows, he gets up about every two and wants to eat.  This would be fine and dandy if we wanted to feed strictly formula, but we are trying to breastfeed and I just don’t seem to have enough in me to satisfy his hunger every two hours.  It’s sad, so I’m doing my best to pump and try to ‘beef up’ my supply, but it’s hard to do…

What I do notice is that the more he eats, the longer he sleeps.  Not a bad thing to keep in mind, if I do say.  During the day, he’s really quite good about sleeping.  Sometimes up to four hours at a time!  But at night – not so much.  I’m not sure if it’s because it’s late and my body wants the sleep, but it feels like Bubbs is up way more often at night than during the day.  I just started a notebook to keep tabs on when I feed him and when I pump and whatnot.  I’m hoping that helps me understand the patterns and the supply/demand part of feeding.

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

